Beginning Soloing: Aeolian

• Minor Scale (Darker, ‘Sad’)
• Hum It, Then Play It

Related Lessons:

Bonus Package $3.95

Sorry, all products temporarily unavailable (due to paypal phishing attack)

• Backing tracks in 4 different modes
• TAB/Score of licks and concepts presented


• "Aeolian Mode" is another name for the Minor (or Natural Minor) Scale. It has a minor I chord and a minor IV chord, so it is a rather dark sounding mode.

• By the way, in music theory, major chords are represented by large Roman numerals (e.g., I, IV, V), and minor chords by smal Roman numerals (e.g., ii, iii, vi).

• The backing track used in this video is a i9 - iv9 progression in A (Am9 - Dm9). So, it's a bit jazzier than a simple i - iv progression.

• Two scales that work in Aeolian are the Minor Pentatonic (1-b3-4-5-b7) and, of course, Aeolian (1-2-b3-4-5-b6-b7).

• We'll start super easy; by humming just one note!

• Try making your own variations of these licks and lines.

• Try playing the lick up or down an octave.

• Try harmonizing melodic lines in 3rds or 6ths.

• Try playing it on different parts of the neck.